Mach3 motor tuning settings

Discussion of Mach3 CNC control software

Mach3 motor tuning settings

Postby Improbable Construct » Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:40 pm

Chris Muncy asked about my motor tuning settings in this post.
http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=386&start=20#p6207
I started this thread to answer that question and collect other peoples setting as well.

Here are mine:
X = 7798 mm/min Acceleration = 800 mm/min
Y = 7798 mm/min Acceleration = 800 mm/min
Z = 799.8 mm/min Acceleration = 400 mm/min
A = 7798 mm/min Acceleration = 800 mm/min (slaved to Y axis)

On my TB6560-T4 controller box I have the dip switches set to:
1 = Off
2 = Off
3 = Off
4 = Off
1-4 current settings 100%-->50% (I should probably be running 75%-->50% or 20% with 2A motors but it runs good and the motors don't get more than warm.)

5 = Off
6 = On
5-6 micro stepping 1/16

7 = On
8 = On
7-8 No Decay
Shapeoko #Classified some of the V-wheels and bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock

Etsy:
https://ImprobableConstruct.etsy.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct
Improbable Construct
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL

Re: Mach3 motor tuning settings

Postby Chris Muncy » Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:30 pm

What are you doing for steps per mm?
Chris

ShapeOko #670
4 Axis TB6560
Mach 3
Chris Muncy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: Willis, TX

Re: Mach3 motor tuning settings

Postby Improbable Construct » Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:09 pm

I have mine set to :
87.58822751 per revolution.

In Mach3, if you go to the settings tab, under "Axis Calibration" there is a button labeled "set steps per unit"
I started with 10mm as the move distance then worked up to 100mm movements to fine tune my steps per settings.

For my setup this is within .01mm of perfect.
Shapeoko #Classified some of the V-wheels and bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock

Etsy:
https://ImprobableConstruct.etsy.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct
Improbable Construct
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL

Re: Mach3 motor tuning settings

Postby bobe » Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:20 am

Just wondering if anyone has set up the Gecko G540 with the stock "Smart Automation"nema 17 motors that came with the first batch of Shapeoko Inventables kits. I could use some help getting my Gecko G540 setup up with this machine. If anyone can help me with these calculations and setting for a millimeter (mm) setup, or be kind enough to make a mach 3 XML file for me that would be awesome.
bobe
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Mach3 motor tuning settings

Postby verishare » Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:59 am

Hi. I'm using a TB6560 4 Axis Stepper Motor Controller with 12V supply (The red board) with Mach3. My ShapeOko has the IC ACME screw Z axis mod and the Y (dual drive A slaved) is expanded out to 1m maker slide. Using all NEMA 17 200 step motors. I'm having a difficult time getting the steps and micro stepping, velocity set right. I've tried to do the math etc. and it would be nice to at least have some ball park numbers to use the auto tuning from.

Could someone PLEASE tell the ideal settings for number of steps, motor tuning settings to start out with for XYZ and microstepping to start out with? Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks!! :D
verishare
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 12:18 am

Re: Mach3 motor tuning settings

Postby northbear » Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:57 am

Improbable Construct wrote:Here are mine:
X = 7798 mm/min Acceleration = 800 mm/min
Y = 7798 mm/min Acceleration = 800 mm/min
Z = 799.8 mm/min Acceleration = 400 mm/min
A = 7798 mm/min Acceleration = 800 mm/min (slaved to Y axis)


Sorry for dredging up an old thread, but I assume the acceleration numbers listed above should be mm/sec/sec (mm/sec^2)?

Reason I ask is I am working on setting up my machine which uses TB56560 drivers, but doing so in inches rather then mm. (and in LinuxCNC vs Mach3 ....) More just using it as a comparison then anything else I guess
My buildlog is here
northbear
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:21 pm


Return to Mach3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest